End of 2022 Year Review: THE YEAR OF BALLING WITH A MIX OF SAPA

End of 2022 Year Review: THE YEAR OF BALLING WITH A MIX OF SAPA

ยท

4 min read

In 2022, I had a range of good and bad experiences, as well as some great achievements. Some things I remember from the year include:

  • Losing multiple gigs and contracts at the start of the year, led me to feel depressed ๐Ÿ˜”

  • Moving into a better apartment๐Ÿก

  • Securing a contract writing role with a US company, which was a valuable learning experience๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿพ

  • Taking on 20+ coding gigs for websites and projects

  • Participating in over 40 interviews within a short period of time๐Ÿ“ž

  • Taking more flights, even though I was scared of them ๐Ÿ›ซ

  • Having a staycation in Ibadan with friends ๐Ÿ–๏ธ

  • Finally getting a decent workspace and setup, including a 32-inch curved monitor ๐Ÿ’ป

  • Being laid off from my contract writing role ๐Ÿ˜ข

  • Investing a lot in real estate and friend's businesses, and making money from some risky investments ๐Ÿ’ฐ

  • Getting rejected for a $130K role at the final stage ๐Ÿ˜ž

  • Trying love again, with an uncertain outcome ๐Ÿ˜

  • Attempting to work out at the beginning of the year, but gave up after 2 months due to the expensive lifestyle ๐Ÿ‹๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ

  • Transacting about $79K this year (not all mine, so I was still broke) ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

  • Falling sick too many times, including burnout ๐Ÿ˜ท

  • Getting into the Andela talent pool and landing a $60K role within a month ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿพ

  • Trying forex and getting emotional about it, but planning to try again next year ๐Ÿ’ธ

  • Cutting some addictions and eating healthier ๐ŸŽ

  • Both of my sisters getting engaged ๐Ÿ’

  • Dropping out of UNILAG and getting into IU International University of Applied Sciences Germany ๐ŸŽ“

  • Losing one of my crypto wallets to 2FA ๐Ÿ—‘๏ธ๐Ÿšฎ

  • Improving my dress sense and becoming more fashionable ๐Ÿ•ถ๏ธ

  • Continued learning how to drive ๐Ÿš—

  • Supporting more of my friends in getting into tech and mentoring others on their journey(even if I be fraud) ๐Ÿค

  • Attended more tech conferences ๐Ÿ’ก

WHAT I LEARNED IN 2022

In 2022, I learned a few valuable lessons. First, I realized that making money is a skill that can be developed and improved upon. Andrew Tate said it best: "making money is a skill on its own, YOU DON'T MAKE MONEY, YOU TAKE IT". I also learned that the way we see ourselves can greatly affect how we reflect ourselves to the world. Proverbs 23:7 reminded me that "as he thinketh in his heart, so is he." I learned that it's important to take the first step toward my goals immediately, as it can be challenging to build momentum when I haven't even started. I also learned the value of finding people with similar goals and holding ourselves accountable to each other.

I learned that pride can be the devil, as James 4:6 says "God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble." I also learned the importance of consistency, as 1 Corinthians 15:58 says "be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord." Galatians 6:9 adds that we should "not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap if we do not give up." I learned that karma is a powerful force, as Job 4:8 reminds us that "those who plow evil and those who sow trouble reap it."

I also learned the importance of tithing, as Malachi 3:10-12 says that when we bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, we are testing God and He will pour out so much blessing that there will not be enough room to store it.

Lastly, STAY HUNGRY, STAY FOOLISH ~Steve Jobs.

2023 GOALS

Here are the revised goals for 2023:

  • Increase my income

  • Develop my skills further

  • Complete and start new real estate projects

  • Get back into a consistent exercise routine (not necessarily on a treadmill, home workouts work too)

  • Learn more about cryptocurrencies and FOREX

  • Purchase a sexy ride

  • Buy more sneakers (fake Nikes are fine too)

  • Prioritize skincare

  • Expand my wardrobe

  • Travel to at least two countries outside of Nigeria

  • Take action on my startup ideas

  • Speak at tech programs

  • Spend more time with family

  • Strengthen my personal relationship with God.

Time for another amazing year in 2023 :)