2021 My End of Year Review

2021 was a special year for me. I had more wins than the previous year and also some painful losses too. However, there is one thing that made it a crazy year. The fact that everything was so unexpected.

I started the year in hopes of gaining more experience and joining the MLH internship program( this was my plan at the time to make the progress I wanted in tech). Although it didn’t work out. I got rejected because the slots got filled up. Getting this rejection was actually very painful because I bet everything on it. After mourning my loss, I decided I wasn’t going to give up. I applied again but this time I did all my interviews very early.

Here’s where things get interesting.

  • I gradually got into technical writing and got paid for my articles by Section Education and FaunaDb. This gave me hope and money to get by.

  • I applied to a Nigerian based Django job from a friend(Qdevs) and was preparing to complete my final interview but had to reject the offer

  • I finally got an internship offer from MLH but had to reject the offer🥺)

  • I got an offer from a US based company as a full stack engineer( salary choke sha) - thankful for my friends because they encouraged me to go for it when the job description was scary

  • I joined Draft.dev, Logrocket, Dzone and Arctype technical writing pool and earned my first 7 digits from technical writing

  • I became an Agora ambassador( the experience is amazing tbh) with mind blowing swags and gift cards

  • I decided to start my weight loss journey seeing I gained too much weight during the covid break(lost 7kg already)

  • I mentored two hackathons( Drawdown Research and API Hacks)

  • Started building a Django course with Educative.io

  • Grew from a writer to a contract software developer at Artype

  • Helped my friends get into tech and sponsored some people to Altschool(looking to do 10x next year)

  • Played mini father Christmas (sapa is laughing sha)

  • Got a better phone (getting m1 soon)

  • I met a lot of my tech people in person at Devfest and made new friends

  • Increased my CGPA by a lot😉(make i no dropout abeg)

  • Learned that money is almost everything until you’re a billionaire sha

  • Finally realized that being a Citiboy is underrated

  • Heaven gained some of my loved ones

  • Kuda and Gtbank statement($20k)

  • Gained and Lost multiple gigs

  • Grew my hair then started plaiting it( I’m still yet to dye it)

So there you have it basically the summary of my 2021( God is good)