2020- My Year in Review

2020- My Year in Review

·

5 min read

2020 was generally a year full of both challenges and wins. For me personally it was a year of learning new things, getting to meet great people and upping my game financially with my craft(i.e programming, most people think I do Yahoo😂.).
So these are my highlights for 2020:

  • Jan, 2020 THE GIGS STARTED COMING Got a few python gigs during this period for web development projects. I could now save up and get things I wanted.
  • Feb, 2020 MY FIRST REAL JOB Joined 24HUBS as a Python Software Developer under a 3 months renewable contract and got my first paycheck. Big boy tinzzz. I did a lot of learning on this job, my boss is a great guy and we achieved a lot together this year.
  • March, 2020 STARTED LEARNING FLASK I wanted to learn another python framework that will make backend and API development easier for me , then a friend advised to learn flask. Really good one by the way, helped me get into sql too credits to LORDGHOSTX
  • April, 2020 DELVING INTO DEVOPS After deploying many web apps, I decided to take any devops operations seriously. Started by learning docker, kuberneetes.
  • June, 2020 STARTED LEARNING VUE.JS Began worrying about my frontend knowledge dying out and decided to pick one of the new frontend frameworks and learn how to use it. VUE was perfect. However, I later dropped it to handle more work at hand.
  • July, 2020 BECAME AN OFFICIAL MEMBER OF VIDDATECK Joined a startup company as a backend web developer along with some friends . Achieved great things this year and will be launching most projects soon.
  • Sept, 2020 BECAME A TUTOR AT DSC UNILAG I was accepted into DSC Unilag as a python tutor . This was a big opportunity for me to learn and impact people lives, thanks to Ifihan our amazing DSC lead and Fortune my python lead.
  • Oct, 2020 WINNER OF NOVA.K's GAME JAM and Got my First Student I participated in an in game jam competition and came out as the winner. Very exciting experience, would be releasing the beta version of the game soon on twitch, subscribe to my newsletter and be among the first set to know about it. I also began teaching c and got my first student, I tried my best to teach him and cover all we could before his exams in December.
  • Nov, 2020 PUBLISHED MY FIRST ARTICLE ON HASHNODE WOO HOOO!!. I finally wrote and published my first tech write up on hashnode. What a time to be alive....2020 was looking very good. Read here chukslord.hashnode.dev/a-taste-of-geodjango..
  • Dec, 2020 So much love this month!!!! Woow...Finally joined the writers program with Sochase . Also participated in three hackathons and became a finalist in one of them. Also applied to the MLH fellowship and completed my first interview. Best of all my student came out with flying colors in his C programming exams...woohoo.

It was a great year for both me and many of my friends. A few bad things happened like the covid 19 outbreak and the endsars movement in Nigeria. I am happy all my friends and family made it to the end of this year unharmed. 2020 was great, but watch out 2021's about to be the real deal💥.